Newington: 152-154 Barnard Street, Bendigo. Victoria

Newington is one of the most spectacular rows of terraces along Bendigo’s much celebrated Barnard Street heritage precinct.  Overlooking the Queen Elizabeth Oval, this row of two double storey terraces dates back to the early 1870s and was built for James Brierley.  Brierley was originally a local stonemason who was responsible for several of Bendigo’s oldest buildings.

Newington: 152-154 Barnard Street, Bendigo. Victoria

Newington: 152-154 Barnard Street, Bendigo. Victoria


Newington terrace is a celebration of iron lacework.  It appears to have been substantially remodelled and added to in later decades with the addition of Queen Anne style wraparound faceted balconies complete with gables, wood turned finials, decorative bargeboards and eaves, cast iron corinthian columns, frieze, brackets and fringes and cast iron balustrades. The two sets of separate balconies reflect the unusual plan of the terraces, with a corner section projecting toward the street.

The terraces behind the filigree screen are themselves red brick and plain, broken by a cornice, string courses and rendered voussoir and the tall chimneys poking above the parapet.

Newington has a special heritage overlay (HO90) for protection under the City of Greater Bendigo’s planning scheme.

Leave a Reply

*
Recent Discussion
  • Bryan Stralow: As a restoration company working throughout VIC, we see all types of construction issues and...
  • Faith Griffiths: The property 4 Collett St Kensington was in 1931 Gipps Ward Melbourne Hospital. (information copied...
  • Georgia: Does anyone know who currently owns these terraces? They are very iconic on Ormond St and seem to be full of...
Tags