Posts Tagged ‘1884’
This row of four double storey Victorian filligree terraces has been adaptively used as professional suites. Given the lack of current heritage protection offered (as of 2014 it is not covered by a heritage overlay under the Stonnington planning Scheme1. Given the position of the signage on the segmental arch of the parapet which bears the name “Wilson’s Terrace”, one would think this terrace was originally a row of five with two houses on either side of the mid-terrace. However, its first mention in The Argus in 1881 advertises it as a row of four houses, each with seven rooms.2 Tenders were called for its construction in 1884 by architects W H Elleker.3 The houses were originally numbered 15-27 High Street.4
Sydney’s Newtown has many impressively intact rows of Victorian terrace houses on relatively flat terrain and this terrace forms part of an impressive row or eight overlooking Hollis Park which was formerly known as L’Avenue. These end terraces, tall for two storeys, are in the distinctive Queen Anne style terrace has a fanciful gothic feel thanks to its tall gables with frilly wooden bargeboards and tall wooden finials on a steep slate roof. The roof features tall picturesque chimneys complete with patterned mouldings. The two gables frame a large bay window which goes up the full two storeys with a small slate roof in the gable. The terraces are mirrored at the other end of the row, which has taller Italianate houses in between, however 7 and 8 have been substantially compromised and barely recognisable with enclosed verandahs and other later additions.