Posts Tagged ‘1890s’
Musbury Terrace is a row of six terraced houses and one of Perth’s few single storey rows. Built in 18971, each house consisted five rooms, kitchen bath and pantry.2 Architecturally the cottages are minimalist, with a horizontal parapet decorated only by urns atop each party wall and vermiculation, bullnose verandahs and iron lace consisting of a shallow fringe and brackets.
The railway barracks at Albury is an important heritage registered row of 8 cottages built in 1890 as temporary rest houses for coach staff1 and believed to be the oldest of its kind remaining in Australia.
Currently in derelict condition with extensive boardings and graffiti it is protected on the NSW Heritage register. As part of the ongoing Albury railway station redevelopment urban renewal project it is being preserved for future adaptive reuse.
- Albury Railway Precinct. NSW Heritage ↩
The most distinctive feature of this row of four Footscray cottages is their overly tall triangular parapets which cascading with scrolls and central arch seashell motif is both a nod to the Dutch style and effectively hide the hip and gable roof behind. It is most likely that before painting, they were red brick and cream painted render typical of the 1890s. For many years from the 1930s to the 1950s they were sold as a single investment row12 as such its probably a miracle that they have survived to the present day in an area which had seen so much change. There is no doubt that terraces are now exceptionally rare in this area. Whether they, along with their neighbouring terraces escape the current extensive redevelopment of Footscray with no heritage protection or overlay at any level3 remains to be seen. There is no doubt that terraces are now exceptionally rare in this area.
Set high in Pyrmont’s hills, this is one of two long and similarly designed but distinct rows of single storey cottages, like its neighbours, this row of nine is notable for its polychrome treatment and Queen Anne inspired gable design. Built in the late 1890s, sometime after 1897, the homes first appear in council rate books around 1901.1 The entire row was owned by J E Kin and let at £35.2
This architecturally fascinating eclectic double storey terraced pair located on once fashionable but now seedy St Kilda Hill features aspects of both Federation and Queen Anne styles merged with the terrace house idiom with its distinctive “blood and bandage” red brick and cream render. A picturesque effect is achieved through the central gable parapet along with the steeply pitched slate roof high chimneys with their terracotta pots. Dating to 1892, the residences were built for Gavan Shaw, a wine merchant who owned and lived in a neighbouring mansion. For many years, however, it operated as a backpacker hostel known as “St Kilda Lodge”.
This row of four double storey shophouses in Sydney’s Pyrmont were originally terrace houses built in 1890 but they’ve suffered quite a lot in the conversion.