This row of six single storey double fronted workers cottages was built between 1878 and 1879 in local bluestone and designed by Joseph Watts as part of the historic Barwon Paper Mill Victorian era industrial complex and a rare example of British model company housing ensuring that it has the highest heritage protection being on the Victorian Heritage Register (H0743)1, National Trust Register2 and part of a City of Greater Geelong heritage overlay HO2083.
More information »
This pair of double storey semi-detached houses built in 1882 for Geelong builder John Charles Taylor of J.C. Taylor & Sons Pty Ltd and is attributed by City of Greater Geelong to architect Alexander Davidson1 is notable for its combination of stunning brick polychrome and iron lacework.
Commanding a sweeping elevated view over Corio Bay and foreshore cliffs near central Geelong, this pair has a great deal of history, having been altered several times since their first construction in 1854 as a single house built by Andrew and Elizabeth Martin, modified in 1880 by Charles Anderson and extended by his widow, Sarah, in 1895 to become two terrace houses.
Austin Terraces are part of the Austin Hall complex and are situated directly opposite South Geelong railway station. The 1886 terraces are of historic importance to Geelong, having been built by the philanthropist Elizabeth Austin a wealthy pastoralist who built the complex on Yarra Street for needy elderly women. There are two rows of six identical terraces flanking the clocktower complex designed by Joseph Watts.